Surgery was a Success – He’s Okay!

Just a quick, AWESOME update for you: Steven made it through the surgery, and his vitals are good! So despite the fact that it was a life threatening surgery that had slim chances of success or survival, he made it through. I keep saying that Steven doesn’t do odds, he DEFIES them! We have another miracle on our hands. That boy’s fighting spirit is so strong, and your support has been incredible.

So in the surgery they placed the dialysis catheter, and they should be able to begin the dialysis within the next few hours. Hopefully they will be able to revive that brave little transplanted kidney, so send that incredible little organ all your love! Our sweet Steven now has a fighting chance. May more miracles continue to come his way.

Two things to share with you. I am attaching for you two photos – one is of my brother Jeff and Steven from when they were in the St. Louis Hospital. Steven is like a son to my brother, and he loves Steven so much. I thought it would give you a little visual to hold in your heart as you continue to send those good healing vibes. Secondly, I wanted to share with you what I did when it was time for Steven’s surgery – cue picture # 2.

I went down to the ocean’s edge at surgery time today to have a little chat with the Big Man upstairs. Convening in that peaceful place as I listened to the best songs on my iPod was needed. I was overwhelmed with emotion, but not surprised, as a school of dolphins swam directly in front of me, fairly close to the shore (you can only see one fin in the picture, but there were MANY). As they did, the lyrics to the song I was listening to said, “So take from me my worry” as a lone bird flew above them, letting me know my dad was with me, and with Steven. Eventually even the crabs all came out on the rocks of the jetty in a show of solidarity, and a huge pelican swooped into the ocean as water crashed against the rocks and sprayed me, as I imagined the success of his surgery. And I knew everything would be all right. And it is.

“Can you hear us now? What about NOW?!?!” Thank you for continuing to be a part of the TEAM STEVEN network. We really believe that all of the positivity and love coming from so many people is making a huge difference. My mom said, “I have never seen so many people opening their hearts and letting the love and concern pour out. If people just did this all the time and loved all their fellow man this much, can you imagine how wonderful and perfect the whole world would be?” I can.

Cue John Lennon’s “Imagine.” 🙂

Thank you for your continued love and concern, prayers and good thoughts. My heart is filled with gratitude, and yes, today I am now the Manic Head Cheerleader of Team Steven. Ain’t nothing wrong with that kind of happiness. 😉

Breathing a sigh of relief for an entire family,
Valerie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

